firstHomeConsumer ResourcesAppraisalAMCsMortgageReal EstateTimesharesSubdivisions

Licensed Sales Agent Registration

To become a licensed Sales Agent an individual must:

  1. Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency. (Utah Code Annotated 61-2f)
    Note: According to Administrative Rule R162-2f-201, an applicant does not qualify for a real estate license if he or she has had any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.
  2. Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.
  3. Have at a minimum a High School diploma or its equivalent.
  4. Take 120 hours of approved education at a certified Real Estate Pre-License School as outlined in the Real Estate Pre-License Education Curriculum. This education must be completed no longer than one year before applying for a license.
  5. Take and pass the Sales Agent exam. A license request must be made within 90 days of passing the exam.
  6. Submit application to the Division. The checklist will help you provide a complete application and must be included with the following documents:
    • Checklist
    • Completed and signed application (issued at the testing center).
    • Signed original school certificates (issued by the real estate school) or Education Waiver (issued by the Division).
    • Signed responses to the Qualifying Questionnaire (issued at the testing center) and supporting documentation to any "YES" answers.
    • Two fingerprint cards (Blue FD-258) or receipt of electronic fingerprint submission and a signed Fingerprint Waiver (issued at the testing center).
    • $152 non-refundable fee ($100 application fee, $12 recovery fund fee and $40 fingerprint processing fee).
    • Completed Certification of Legal Presence
    Note: Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant.

NOTE: If you are licensed in another state you may obtain a Utah license either through reciprocity or by qualifying for an education waiver.

Utah currently has reciprocity agreements with Georgia, Mississippi, and Alberta Canada. Applicants with an active Real Estate license in good standing from a state that has a reciprocity agreement with Utah should submit to the Division:

  • Completed and signed Real Estate Reciprocity Application.
  • Original and certified license history (no more than six months old) from the jurisdiction where you are actively licensed and which has a reciprocity agreement with Utah.
  • Original and certified license histories (no more than six months old) from all other jurisdictions where you have previously held a Real Estate license.
  • For Principal and Branch Brokers, a notarized letter on the company’s letterhead, signed by a company Officer, Manager/Member or Owner, authorizing the Broker to use the company name.
  • Two fingerprint cards and a signed Fingerprint Waiver (cards may be obtained from the Division or a local police station).
  • For a sales agent, $152 total non-refundable fee ($100 application fee, $12 recovery fund fee and $40 fingerprint processing fee).
  • For a broker, $158 total non-refundable fee ($100 application fee, $18 recovery fund fee and $40 fingerprint processing fee).
  • Completed Certification of Legal Presence

Applicants with an active real estate license in good standing from a state that does NOT have a reciprocity agreement with Utah may qualify for a waiver of some education and/or national exam requirements.

Waivers will not be granted if the license has expired or is not in good standing.

To qualify for an education/national exam waiver and obtain a Utah Sales Agent or Broker license, an individual must:

  1. Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency. (Utah Code Annotated 61-2f)
    Note: According to Administrative Rules R162-2f-201, an applicant does not qualify for a real estate license if he or she has any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years.
  2. Be at least 18 years of age at the time of application.
  3. Have at minimum a High School diploma or its equivalent.
  4. Complete, sign and submit to the Division the Real Estate Education Waiver Request.
  5. Wait for the Education Waiver from the Division prior to taking any pre-license education and/or exam.
  6. Take any required pre-license education at a certified Pre-License Real Estate School.
  7. Take and pass either the Sales Agent exam or Broker exam (either both the state and national portions or only the state portion, as required).
  8. Submit to the Division:
    • Completed and signed application (issued at the testing center).
    • Signed original Education Waiver (issued by the Division).
    • For Principal and Branch Brokers, a notarized letter on the company’s letterhead, signed by a company Officer, Manager/Member or Owner, authorizing the Broker to use the company name.
    • Two fingerprint cards (Blue FD-258) and a signed Fingerprint Waiver (issued at the testing center).
    • For Sales Agents, $152 non-refundable fee ($100 application fee, $12 recovery fund fee and $40 fingerprint processing fee).
    • For Brokers, $158 total non-refundable fee ($100 application fee, $18 recovery fund fee and $40 fingerprint processing fee).
    • Completed Certification of Legal Presence

Note: If the exam is taken at a location in Utah, fingerprints will be taken after the exam. If the test is taken outside of Utah, fingerprint cards can be obtained from the Division or a local police station.