To become a licensed Broker an individual must:
- Meet the statutory licensing qualifications of honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, and competency. (Utah Code Annotated 61-2f)
Note: According to Administrative Rules R162-2f-201, an applicant does NOT qualify for a real estate license if he or she has had any felony in the last five years (starting from the time of conviction/plea or completion of any jail/prison sentence) OR if the applicant has any misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty within the last three years. Past acts related to honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation, competency, or violence with particular consideration given to any such acts involving the business of real estate will also be evaluated to determine the candidates qualification to hold a Utah brokers license.
- Within the past five-year period (preceding the date of application), have three years full-time, licensed, active real estate experience; or two years full-time, licensed, active, real estate experience and one year full-time professional real estate experience from the optional experience table 3 in the Appendix of Administrative Rule R162-2f-202b.
- Within the five-year period (preceding the date of application), accumulate a total of at least 60 documented experience points complying with R162-2f-401a. Experience points tables 1 & 2 are found in R162-2f-501, appendices.
- Complete and pass 120 hours of approved education at a certified Real Estate Pre-License School, consisting of:
- Part 1 Utah Law 30 Hours, including 3 hours testing
- Part 2 Broker Principles (Fundamentals) 45 Hours, including 4 hours of testing
- Part 3 Broker Practices (Broker Level) 45 Hours, including 4 hours of testing
- Take and pass the Broker Exam from State Approved Testing Vendor.
- Submit application to the Division and Include the checklist to ensure a complete application.:
- Completed and signed application (issued at the testing center).
- Signed original school certificates (issued by the real estate school) or Education Waiver (issued by the Division).
- Signed and Notarized Broker Experience Documentation Form showing at least three years of qualifying experience.
- Completed and signed Broker Transaction Log or Broker Property Management Log showing at least 60 experience points within the five years proceeding application.
- Signed and notarized Broker Verification Form completed by each Broker with whom the applicant has affiliated during the five years proceeding application.
Note: Forms must be submitted in a sealed envelope with the broker's signature across the seal.
- For Principal and Branch Brokers, a notarized letter on the company’s letterhead, signed by a company Officer, Manager/Member or Owner, authorizing the Broker to use the company name.
- Two fingerprint cards (Blue FD-258) or receipt of digital fingerprints submission.
- $158 total non-refundable fee ($100 application fee, $18 recovery fund fee and $40 fingerprint processing fee).
- Completed Certification of Legal Presence
Note: Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant. Application fees are non refundable.