R162-2f-202b. Principal Broker Licensing Fees and Procedures.
(1) To obtain a Utah license to practice as a principal broker, an individual shall:
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evidence honesty, integrity, truthfulness, and reputation pursuant to Subsection

R162-2f-201(1);

evidence competency to transact the business of real estate pursuant to

Subsection R162-2f-201(2);

(i)  successfully complete 120 hours of approved prelicensing education,
including:

(A) 45 hours of broker principles;

(B) 45 hours of broker practices; and

(C) 30 hours of Utah law and testing; or

(it)  apply to the division for waiver of all or part of the education requirement
by virtue of:

(A) completing equivalent education as part of a college undergraduate
or postgraduate degree program, regardless of the date of the degree;
or

(B) completing other equivalent real estate education within the 12-
month period prior to the date of application;

(i) apply with a testing service designated by the division to sit for the
licensing examination; and

(i)  pay a nonrefundable examination fee to the testing center;

pursuant to this Subsection (3)(a), take and pass both the state and national

components of the licensing examination;

(i) unless Subsection (2)(a) applies, evidence the individual's having, within
the five-year period preceding the date of application, a minimum of three
years experience related to real estate, including the following:

(A) at least two years full-time licensed, active experience selling, listing,
or managing the property types identified in Appendix 1; and

(B) up to one year full-time professional experience related to real estate,
as outlined in Appendix 3; and

(if)  evidence having accumulated, within the five-year period preceding the
date of application, a total of at least 60 experience points as follows:

(A) 45 to 60 points pursuant to the experience points tables found in
Appendices 1 and 2; and

(B) 0to 15 points pursuant to the experience point table found in
Appendix 3;

pursuant to this Subsection (3)(b), submit to the division an application for

licensure including:

(i)  documentation indicating successful completion of the approved broker
prelicensing education;

(if) areport of the examination showing a passing score for each component of
the examination; and

(i) the applicant's business, home, and e-mail addresses;

provide from any state where licensed as a real estate agent or broker:

(i) awritten record of the applicant's license history; and
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(i) complete documentation of any disciplinary action taken against the
applicant's license;

if applying for an active license, affiliate with a registered company;

pay the nonrefundable fees required for licensure, including the nonrefundable

fee required under Section 61-2f-505 for the Real Estate Education, Research,

and Recovery Fund; and

establish a trust account pursuant to Section R162-2f-403.

If an individual applies under this Subsection R162-2f-202b within two years of

allowing a principal broker license to expire, the experience required under

Subsection (1)(f) shall be accumulated within the seven-year period preceding

the date of application.

Pursuant to Section R162-2f-407, an individual whose application is denied by

the division for failure to meet experience requirements under this Subsection

(1)(f) may bring the application before the commission.

Deadlines.
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If an individual passes one test component but fails the other, the individual shall

retake and pass the failed component:

(i)  within six months of the date on which the individual achieves a passing
score on the passed component; and

(if)  within 12 months of the date on which the individual completes the
prelicensing education.

An application for licensure shall be submitted:

(1)  within 90 days of the date on which the individual achieves passing scores
on both examination components; and

(it)  within 12 months of the date on which the individual completes the
prelicensing education.

If any deadline in this Section R162-2f-202b falls on a day when the division is

closed for business, the deadline shall be extended to the next business day.



