R162-2c-201. Licensing and Registration Procedures.

Mortgage loan originator.

To obtain a Utah license to practice as a mortgage loan originator, an individual
who is not currently and validly licensed in any state shall:

@)

(@)

(b)

(i)

(i)
(iii)
(iv)
V)

(vi)

(vii)

(viii)
(ix)
(x)
(xi)

(xii)

(xiii)

(xiv)

evidence good moral character pursuant to R162-2c-202(1);

evidence competency to transact the business of residential mortgage loans

pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);

evidence financial responsibility pursuant to R162-2c-202(3);

obtain a unique identifier through the nationwide database;

successfully complete, within the 12-month period prior to the date of

application, 15 hours of Utah-specific pre-licensing education as approved

by the division;

(A) successfully complete 20 hours of pre-licensing education as
approved by the nationwide database according to the nationwide
database outline for national course curriculum; or

(B) if the individual previously passed the 20-hour national course,
obtained a license, and thereafter allowed the license to expire,
successfully complete continuing education:

() approved by the nationwide database; and

(1) in the number of hours that would have been required to renew
the expired license in the year in which the individual allowed
the license to expire;

take and pass the examinations that meet the requirements of Section 61-

2¢-204.1(4) and that:

(A) are approved and administered through the nationwide database; and

(B) consist of a national component and a Utah-specific state component;

request licensure as a mortgage loan originator through the nationwide

database;

authorize a criminal background check and submit fingerprints through the

nationwide database;

authorize the nationwide database to provide the individual's credit report

to the division for review;

provide to the division all relevant information regarding "yes" answers to

disclosure questions found within the application submitted on the MU4

form;

record with the nationwide database a mailing address, if the applicant is

not able to accept mail at the physical location or street address that is

required to be on record with the nationwide database pursuant to Section
61-2¢-106(1)(a);

complete, sign, and submit to the division a social security verification

form as provided by the division; and

pay all fees through the nationwide database as required by the division

and by the nationwide database.

To obtain a Utah license to practice as a mortgage loan originator, an individual
who is currently and validly licensed in another state shall:

(i)

evidence good moral character pursuant to R162-2c-202(1);



@)

(if) evidence competency to transact the business of residential mortgage loans
pursuant to R162-2¢c-202(2);

(iii) evidence financial responsibility pursuant to R162-2¢-202(3);

(iv) (A) successfully complete, within the 12-month period prior to the date
of application, 15 hours of Utah-specific mortgage loan originator
prelicensing education; and

(B) take and pass the Utah-specific state examination component;

(v) provide to the division all relevant information regarding "yes" answers to
disclosure questions found within the application submitted on the MU4
form;

(vi) record with the nationwide database a mailing address, if the applicant is
not able to accept mail at the physical location or street address that is
required to be on record with the nationwide database pursuant to Section
61-2¢-106(1)(a);

(vii) request licensure as a mortgage loan originator through the nationwide
database;

(viii) authorize a criminal background check through the nationwide database;

(ix) authorize the nationwide database to provide the individual's credit report
to the division for review;

(x) complete, sign, and submit to the division a social security verification
form as provided by the division; and

(xi) pay all fees through the nationwide database as required by the division
and by the nationwide database.

Lending manager. To obtain a Utah license to practice as An LM, an individual shall:

(@)
(b)

()
(d)

)

evidence good moral character pursuant to R162-2c-202(1);
evidence competency to transact the business of residential mortgage loans
pursuant to R162-2c-202(2);
evidence financial responsibility pursuant to R162-2c-202(3);
provide to the division:
(i) the individual's unique identifier as assigned through the nationwide
database; and
(if)  evidence that the individual has taken and passed:
(A) the 20-hour national mortgage loan originator prelicensing course;
and
(B) the mortgage loan originator examinations that:
()  meet the requirements of Section 61-2¢-204.1(4);
(I are approved and administered through the nationwide
database; and
(11) consist of a national component and a Utah-specific state
component;
obtain approval from the division to take the Utah-specific LM prelicensing
education by evidencing that the applicant has satisfied, during the five-year
period preceding the date of application, the experience requirement of Section
61-2c-206(1)(d) through:
(i) (A) three years full-time experience originating first-lien residential
mortgages pursuant to Section 61-2c-102(1)(ee)(i)(A):



©)

() under a license issued by a state regulatory agency; or
(1IN as an employee of a depository institution; and
(B) evidence of having originated a minimum of 45 first-lien residential
mortgages; or
@) (A) (1) two years full-time experience as described in this Subsection
(2)(e)(i)(A); and
(1)  additional full-time experience per the equivalency calculation
in Subsection R162-2¢-501a; and
(B) (1) evidence of having originated a minimum of 30 first-lien
residential mortgages; and
(1) up to 15 additional points according to the experience points
schedule in Subsection R162-2c-501b;

(f)  within the 12-month period preceding the date of application, successfully
complete 40 hours of Utah-specific PLM prelicensing education as certified by
the division;

(g) take and pass a lending manager examination as approved by the commission;

(h)  provide to the division all relevant information regarding "yes" answers to
disclosure questions found within the application submitted on the MU4 form;

(i)  record with the nationwide database a mailing address, if the applicant is not
able to accept mail at the physical location or street address that is required to be
on record with the nationwide database pursuant to Section 61-2¢-106(1)(a);

() (i) register in the nationwide database by selecting the "lending manager™

license type and completing the associated MU4 form; and
(if)  designate in the nationwide database whether the individual will be acting
for the sponsoring entity as:
(A) the principal lending manager;
(B) an associate lending manager; or
(C) abranch lending manager;

(k) authorize a criminal background check and submit fingerprints through the
nationwide database;

() authorize the nationwide database to provide the individual's credit report to the
division for review;

(m) complete, sign, and submit to the division a social security verification form as
provided by the division; and

(n) pay all fees through the nationwide database as required by the division and by
the nationwide database.

Mortgage entity.

(@ To obtain a Utah license to operate as a mortgage entity, a person shall:

(i) establish that all control persons meet the requirements for moral character
pursuant to R162-2¢-202(1);

(if)  establish that all control persons meet the requirements for competency
pursuant to R162-2¢-202(2);

(iii) register any other trade name with the Division of Corporations and
Commercial Code;

(iv) register the entity in the nationwide database by:
(A) submitting an MU1 form that includes:



(4)

(b)

() all required identifying information;

(1) the name of the PLM who, pursuant to Subsection R162-2c-
301a(3)(a)(iv), will serve as the entity's qualifying individual,

(11) the name of any LM who, pursuant to Subsection R162-2c-
301a(3)(a)(iv), will serve as a branch lending manager;

(1V) the name of any individuals who may serve as control persons;

(V) the entity's registered agent; and

(V1) any other trade name under which the entity will operate; and

(B) creating a sponsorship through the nationwide database that

identifies the mortgage loan originator(s) sponsored by the entity;

(v) register any branch office operating from a different location than the
entity;

(vi) pay all fees through the nationwide database as required by the division
and by the nationwide database;

(vii) provide to the division proof that any assumed business name or other
trade name is registered with the Division of Corporations and Commercial
Code;

(viii) provide to the division all court documents related to any criminal
proceeding not disclosed through a previous application or renewal and
involving any control person;

(ix) provide to the division complete documentation of any action taken by a
regulatory agency against:

(A) the entity itself; or
(B) any control person; and
(C) not disclosed through a previous application or renewal; and

(x) provide to the division a notarized letter on company letterhead, signed by
the owner or president of the entity, authorizing the PLM to use the entity's
name.

Restrictions on entity name. No license may be issued by the division to an

entity that proposes to operate under a name that closely resembles the name of

another entity licensee, or that the division determines might otherwise be
confusing or misleading to the public.

Branch office.

@)

(b)

To register a branch office with the division, a person shall:
(i) obtain a Utah entity license for the entity under which the branch office
will be registered;
(if)  submit to the nationwide database an MU3 form that includes:
(A) all required identifying information; and
(B) the name of the LM who will serve as the branch lending manager;
(iii) create a sponsorship through the nationwide database that identifies the
mortgage loan originator(s) who will work from the branch office; and
(iv) pay all fees through the nationwide database as required by the division
and by the nationwide database.
A person who registers another trade name and operates under that trade name
from an address that is different from the address of the entity shall register the
other trade name as a branch office pursuant to this Subsection (4).



(¢) (1) APLM may notsimultaneously serve as a BLM if Subsection R162-2c-
301a(3)(a)(iv)(B) applies.
(i)  Anindividual may not serve as the BLM for more than one branch at any
given time.
(5) Licenses not transferable.

(@ A licensee shall not transfer the licensee's license to any other person.

(b) A licensee shall not allow any other person to work under the licensee’s license.

(c) Ifachange in corporate structure of a licensed entity creates a separate and
unique legal entity, that entity shall obtain a unique license, and shall not operate
under any existing license.

(6) Expiration of test results.

(@ Scores for the mortgage loan originator licensing examination shall be valid for
five years.

(b)  Scores for the LM exam shall be valid for 90 days.

(7) Incomplete LM application.

(@ The division may grant a 30-day extension of the 90-day application window
upon a finding that:

(i) anapplicant has made a good faith attempt to submit a completed
application; but

(if)  requires more time to provide missing documents or to obtain additional
information.

(b) If the applicant does not supply the required documents or information within
the 30-day extension, the division may deny the application as incomplete.

(8) Nonrefundable fees. All fees are nonrefundable, regardless of whether an application

Is granted or denied.

(9) Other trade names.

(@ The division shall not approve a license for any person operating under an
assumed business name that poses a reasonable likelihood of misleading the
public into thinking that the person is:

(i) endorsed by the division, the state government, or the federal government;
(i) anagency of the state or federal government; or
(iif) not engaged in the business of residential mortgage loans.

(b) A mortgage entity that operates under another trade name shall register the other
trade name by including it on the MU1 form and obtaining the required
registration.



