
R162-2g-302.  Application for Trainee Registration. 
(1)  Registration required. 

 (a)  An individual who intends to obtain a license to practice as a state-licensed appraiser 

 shall first register with the division as a trainee. 

 (b)  The division and the board shall not award or recognize experience hours toward 

 licensure for any appraisal work that is performed by an individual during a period of time 

 when the individual is not registered as a trainee. 

(2)  Character.  An individual registering with the division as a trainee shall evidence honesty, 

integrity, and truthfulness. 

 (a)  A trainee applicant shall be denied registration for: 

  (i)  a felony that resulted in: 

   (A)  a conviction occurring within five years of the date of application; or 

   (B)  a jail or prison release date falling within five years of the date of  

   application; or 

  (ii)  a misdemeanor involving fraud, misrepresentation, theft, or dishonesty that  

  resulted in: 

   (A)  a conviction occurring within three years of the date of application; or 

   (B)  a jail or prison release date falling within three years of the date of  

   application. 

 (b)  A trainee applicant may be denied registration upon consideration of the following: 

  (i)  criminal convictions and pleas entered at any time prior to the date of   

  application; 

  (ii)  the circumstances that led to any criminal convictions or pleas under   

  consideration; 

  (iii)  past acts related to honesty or moral character, with particular consideration  

  given to any such acts involving the appraisal business; 

  (iv)  dishonest conduct that would be grounds under Utah law for sanctioning an  

  existing licensee; 

  (v)  civil judgments in lawsuits brought on grounds of fraud, misrepresentation, or  

  deceit; 

  (vi)  court findings of fraudulent or deceitful activity in civil lawsuits; 

  (vii)  evidence of non-compliance with court orders or conditions of sentencing; 

  (viii)  evidence of non-compliance with terms of a probation agreement, plea in  

  abeyance, or diversion agreement; and 

  (ix)  failure to pay taxes or child support obligations. 

(3)  Competency.  An individual registering with the division as a trainee shall evidence 

competency. In evaluating an applicant for competency, the division and board may consider any 

evidence, including the following: 

 (a)  civil judgments, with particular consideration given to any such judgments involving the 

 appraisal business; 

 (b)  failure to satisfy a civil judgment that has not been discharged in bankruptcy; 

 (c)  the extent and quality of the applicant's training and education in appraisal; 

 (d)  the extent of the applicant's knowledge of the Utah Real Estate Appraiser Licensing and 

 Certification Act; 

 (e)  evidence of disregard for licensing laws; 

 (f)  evidence of drug or alcohol dependency; and 



 (g)  the amount of time that has passed since any incident under consideration. 

(4) (a)  Pre-licensing education. Within the five-year period preceding the date of application, 

 an applicant shall successfully complete 75 classroom hours: 

  (i)  approved by the AQB; and 

  (ii) (A)  certified by the division pursuant to Subsection R162-2g-307b(1)-(3); or 

   (B)  not required to be certified by the division pursuant to Subsection R162- 

   2g-307b(6). 

 (b)  The 75 hours of required education shall include: 

  (i)  30 hours of appraisal principles; 

  (ii)  30 hours of appraisal procedures; and 

  (iii)  the 15-hour National USPAP course, or its equivalent. 

 (c)  The15-hour National USPAP Course or its equivalent may not be accepted by the 

 division as qualifying education unless it is: 

  (i)  taught by an instructor who: 

   (A)  is a state-certified residential or state-certified general appraiser; and 

   (B)  has been certified by the AQB; or 

  (ii)  approved as a distance education course by the AQB and International Distance  

  Education Certification Center. 

 (d)  Examination. An applicant shall evidence having passed the final examination in all pre-

 licensing courses. 

(5)  Application to the division. An applicant shall submit the following to the division: 

 (a)  a completed application as provided by the division; 

 (b)  course completion certificates for the 75 hours of pre-licensing education; 

 (c) (i)  two fingerprint cards in a form acceptable to the division; or 

  (ii)  evidence that the applicant's fingerprints have been successfully scanned at a  

  testing center; 

 (d)  all court documents related to any past criminal proceeding; 

 (e)  complete documentation of any sanction taken against any license in any jurisdiction; 

 (f)  a signed letter of waiver authorizing the division to: 

  (i)  obtain the fingerprints of the applicant; 

  (ii)  review past and present employment records; 

  (iii)  review education records; and 

  (iv)  conduct a criminal background check; 

 (g)  the fee for the criminal background check; 

 (h)  the name of the state-certified appraiser(s) with whom the trainee is affiliated; 

 (i)  the name and business address of any appraisal entity or government agency with which 

 the trainee is affiliated; and 

 (j)  the nonrefundable application fee. 

(6)  Affiliation with certified appraiser(s). Applicants shall affiliate with at least one supervising 

certified appraiser and evidence that affiliation by: 

 (a)  identifying each supervising certified appraiser on a form supplied by the division; and 

 (b)  obtaining each supervising certified appraiser's signature on the application. 
 


